The story of the well travelled oranges

While we were on our sailboat last year, we tried to buy locally as much as possible mainly because it was fun going to a farmer’s market and having more than two choices of tomatoes (did you know there are purple tomatoes?). Well today when I looked at the oranges I just bought I wondered how is it possible to buy ‘locally’ when all our groceries are flown into our community of Arviat.

Well travelled oranges

Well travelled oranges

These oranges travelled a long way to get to Arviat! They were grown in South Africa, shipped to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan where they were packaged, trucked to Yellowknife, Northwest Territories where they were bought and then travelled with me all the way to Arviat.

Orange all the way from South Africa

Orange all the way from South Africa

Getting items locally can be very difficult in the Arctic and is not an easy task. But it can be done!  One option is to hunt or fish for food. Another option is to grow your own food.  Yes, that’s right; I said grow your own food.

I’ve tried to grow some of our own food but have only been successful with herbs, lettuce and tomatoes due to the fact that we both travel so much for our work. Still, I’ve known a few people up here who have been very successful and have grown tomatoes, potatoes, squash and so forth.

Arviat also has a greenhouse in place where they teach kids how to compost organics and grow food and plants. My plan is to try to set up a small greenhouse next year on our deck and see if I can be as successful. There are options but you have to be a patient and ingenious grower. In saying that, I still miss being able to go to a farmer’s market and being overwhelmed with all the different smells of the fresh fruits and vegetables. ~Sophia

Photo of greenhouse in Arviat (photo by Arviat Goes Green)

Photo of greenhouse in Arviat (photo by Arviat Goes Green)

