The LORAN Tower is still standing

LORAN Tower in December

LORAN Tower in December

In a previous post I noted that Cambridge Bay‘s longstanding LORAN radio tower were to be taken down in late November as it was declared structurally unsound by NAV Canada and must be demolished.  However, when I visited Cambridge Bay in December and early January this year, I noted that the tower was still standing.  After a few inquires, I was informed that, due to concerns raised by community members about the demolition and loss of an important site, the hamlet of Cambridge Bay is now looking into declaring the site a heritage site and looking into rebuilding the tower.  This will cost more than replacing the tower with a new one as what was originally planned, however I have not been able to find additional information on the next plans for the tower. ~ Sophia

Another angle of the LORAN Tower

Another angle of the LORAN Tower

Inside the LORAN Tower

Inside the LORAN Tower

My third favourite dog and my companion when I went for walks in Cambridge Bay

My third favourite dog and my companion when I went for walks in Cambridge Bay

Cambridge Bay

The frozen bay of Cambridge Bay

