Ongoing weather saga!

The weather finally cleared up yesterday after what I would say was one of the windiest blizzard I’ve been through since moving to Baker Lake.  The dogs and I had to dig ourselves out…the snow was about 3 feet high on our front deck and we could not get out that way.  Luckily, the way the wind blew, our back deck was not covered much in snow and we could leave through that entrance to start the big shovelling project.

Sun making a break through the blowing snow

Sun making a break through the blowing snow – this was taken a few days before the blizzard

First blizzard of the season - you can't see very far!

First blizzard of the season – you can’t see very far!

Snow buildup at our front door!

Snow buildup at our front door!

After spending most of the morning digging out the front steps, deck and my snowmachine; I decided that it would be a good time to take the dogs for a walk.  Of course as soon as decided that, the leash that was attached to Loka slipped through my fingers and she dashed off with Jack to go exploring.  I tried to follow but … you get the picture.  They were gone before I could even cross the street to try and catch up to them.  We’ve learned very early with Loka that it is pointless to yell and scream at her when she is off running around.  She is a free-spirit and sometimes needs to run free.  That does not mean that I don’t worry about her especially when she has a leash attached and could get caught (strangled) on something.  Jack of course just follows her big sister and thinks it is fun!

Sundog taken between blizzards

Sundog taken between blizzards

I spend the rest of the day cleaning-up around the house and shovelling the snow off our deck.  I also moved my snowmachine to a new spot near our building hoping that it would not be covered by snow in the next storm.  Rob’s snowmachine was completely buried under snow and it was not going to come out any time soon!  In general, I was just getting everything ready and ‘battening down the hatches‘ for the next storm that was approaching.  By early evening, the wind was howling again around our building and we were into full blizzard conditions by late evening.  The weather forecast is predicting that this one would stay until late Monday!  At least this blizzard is not as bad as the last one.  I can see down the road at least 4 telephone poles compared to 2!!

Snow blowing during our second blizzard!

Snow blowing during our second blizzard!

I do hope this weather system will clear up soon…I’m starting to feel like I’m getting cabin fever being stuck inside the house for so long!!

For any of you concerned about the dogs, they did appear about an hour later at the house looking very sheepish and apologetic for running off! ~ Sophia

Related article: Blizzard hits Nunavut Southern Kivalliq Region

