When you can’t do home repairs…you work on your blog!

Last night, I decided that I will attempt to fix our sewing machine as we won’t be able to ship it down south to a repair shop anytime soon.  It is just too expensive!  Sears, where the machine was bought from, was not very helpful when we phoned them to try to figure out what was wrong with our machine.  And they did not get the idea that we can’t just pop down to a store to get it repaired!  The sewing machine broke after Rob sewed a few canvas projects for our sail boat.

I did a quick search on the internet on how to repair a Kenmore sewing machine and amazingly enough I came across several websites and YouTube sites that discusses how to repair sewing machines, and even potentially cover what is wrong with our sewing machine.  It appears that the hook timing of our machine is off and from my research it does not appear hard to repair.  After pulling apart the sewing machine and getting access to the brass collar on the bottom of the machine, I discovered that I needed an Allen key to adjust the race assembly.  We do have Allen keys, both standard and metric!!  But after going through all our toolboxes and phoning Rob in Pond Inlet, we both realized that the Allen keys are either on the boat or at Rob’s office!  Well, that did not help much…so what next?

Sewing machine needing repair

Sewing machine needing repair

Bottom of sewing machine and the problem

Bottom of sewing machine and the problem

After that and leaving the sewing machine as is on the kitchen table, I decided that I would tackle another project on my list – install hooks for our jackets on the wall at the back entrance.  Well, before I could even start on this project I discovered that the battery in our stud finder was dying.  Again, searching high and low throughout the house trying to find a new 9V battery, I decided that I should work on a more useful project – updating and making changes to the look of our blog.

No new battery for the stud finder

No new battery for the stud finder

Any suggestions on the look of the blog?  I was going through some of the features of theme we use with wordpress and still learning.

I guess I’ll wait till Rob gets back to get the Allen key from his office and I’ll get a new battery tomorrow when the store is open so that I can at least complete one project on my list! – Sophia

