Replacing the Running Rigging

We finally got around to replacing our running rigging on our sailboat, a small project I know but the old ones were old, stiff and frayed; I think I just described myself (Rob)? Running rigging for those who are unfamiliar with the term (I’m keeping this basic) consists of halyards (lines that go from the deck to the top of the mast & raise/lower the sails) and sheets (lines that generally run perpendicular to the deck & control the sails side-to-side directions).  We’ve never done this before, but it seemed pretty easy; connect old and new lines, don’t let lines fall from top of mast, easy!  The hardest part of this exercise was the heat!  As most of you know, we spend most of our time in the arctic where the temperature range in the year varies from -60ºC to +20 ºC.  The heat we do get in the arctic summer is dry; the heat I experienced the day we changed our running rigging was +27ºC and humid.  I know boo hoo I should be cherishing this weather, and I am but it is hot! We do have plans to replace our standing rigging (usually wire lines that don’t move & keep the mast centred) at the end of the summer, maybe the Fall. If you want a great description on the step-by-steps of running/standing rigging, check out Tate & Dani’s boat/site ‘Sundowner Sails Again‘, an awesome site!

The photos below show some of the lines that we replaced for the main, jib and staysail halyards. – Rob and Sophia

Replacing running rigging

Replacing running rigging

IMG_7679

How to attach old to new lines

How to attach old to new lines

Colourful halyards

Colourful halyards

Staysail Halyard

Staysail Halyard

Pretty lines

Pretty lines

3 responses to “Replacing the Running Rigging

  1. Looks like you guys are rigged like us with all the halyards coming down to the mast base. I’m considering running our halyards to the cockpit when we get to the running rigging, but then again… There is something salty about heading to the mast to raise the jib. Great work. I like the colored lines. That will help!

    • Thanks Tate, Iwent up the mast yesterday, what an event. And like you found little surprises. We also considered bringing everything to cockpit but it was suggested not to due to cost and keeping it simple. Hopefully heading out today. Just a note, I checked my manual bilge pump last night (gusher 30) and it was totally corroded out, just a thought.

Comments are closed.