The many bridges of Saskatoon

I left Baker Lake today and headed to Saskatoon for our June Board meeting for my work.  Our Board meets 3 to 4 times a year to get updates from staff on the projects that we are working on, to approve reports for large project and to approve financial budgets.  As part of my job, I get to travel to some of these Board meetings to provide updates and training to the Board members.  This year, we are meeting in Saskatoon instead of somewhere in the north to get additional training on uranium mining and the potential environmental impacts from these type of mines.

Rob and I will be travelling a fair bit this month, both for work and fun.  Once, I’m done with my board meeting, I’ll meet Rob in Toronto where we will meet up with his family and spend the long weekend at his family’s cottage on Lake Huron.  After that, we both fly to Victoria, where I leave him with our sailboat and join my parents for a week cruise to Alaska.  Once that is done, I than join Rob for two weeks and hopefully we will have an opportunity to take our sailboat out for a few sailing trips to get familiar with her and to enjoy the warm weather.

So, my flight from Baker Lake to Saskatoon consisted of 3 planes and took about eight hours of travel.  Yes, I do live in a very big country and it can sometimes be difficult to get around from one part of the country to the next and the cost of flying??  Well, just say that my ticket cost more than for me travel from Toronto to London, England (~$2500).

Once I got into Saskatoon and checked in, I took the opportunity to go for a walk along the South Saskatchewan River.  As you can see from some of the photos, the water levels is quite high due to the fact that they have opened up the Diefenbaker Reservoir in anticipation of the water coming from Alberta (currently there has been widespread flooding occurring across Alberta and some of this water will be flowing down to Saskatchewan).  Below are some photos of the river and the area. – Sophia

Arriving into Saskatoon

Arriving into Saskatoon

Friendship Park

Friendship Park

Broadway Ave Bridge

Broadway Ave Bridge

Victoria Ave Bridge

Victoria Ave Bridge

Louis Riel Bridge

Louis Riel Bridge

My new ride - I wish!!

My new ride – I wish!!

Famous Delta Bessborough Hotel in Saskatoon

Famous Delta Bessborough Hotel in Saskatoon

