Here comes the sun

Just like the Beatles’ song, Here Comes the Sun, the sun finally came out and it felt like spring!  The lyrics from the song truly reflects how we felt today!!

…Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter
Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun
Here comes the sun, and I say
It’s all right….

Little darling, I feel that ice is slowly melting
Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been clear
Here comes the sun
Here comes the sun, and I say
It’s all right…

After spending about an hour shoveling the fluffy snow from our front steps, I took the dogs for a very, very long ski (skijoring).    The snow was fluffy and deep in many places, and at times the dogs and I were slogging through it instead of skiing but it was great to get out and get some sun.  When we started skiing, I thought the dogs were really into it today but then realized that they were actually on the ‘hunt’ and were chasing a sik sik (Arctic ground squirrel).  I was able to stop the dogs before they got to the poor thing but not before getting my skiis crossed and entangled with the harness that attached the dogs to me.  I’m sure people would have been laughing at us if they saw us as we sure were a spectacle to look at.  The dogs were actually interested in going for a run and pulled me most of the way out and back home again.  I tried to take photos of the dogs while skiing but I don’t think it worked very well.  They would stop as soon as I stopped skiing and looked at me with big doggy eyes and gave me the look of “if you want us to pull, you need to keep skiing“.

Our front steps

Our front steps

Dogs pretending to pull

Dogs pretending to pull

The fun of skijoring!

The fun of skijoring!

Dogs pulling!

Dogs pulling!

If you want us to pull, you need to ski!

If you want us to pull, you need to ski!

After coming back home, I recharged by having a homemade soup and a mocha.  As soon as I warmed up, I decided to get Rob’s snowmachine going as the weather was too nice to spend inside.  I wanted to get out to take photos of any wildlife, but were there any wildlife?  Nope, not a single creature was stirring, not even a mouse!!  Actually, I did see some snow buntings and ravens, but I’m not a big fan of ravens…so no great photos of them.  I did take photos of the Inuksuks and ‘rock art’ around town.  For some of this ‘rock art’, I can never tell if they are man-made or not.  I also saw a lot of rock caribou, rock muskox and rock Ptarmigan – from afar the rocks look like animals until you are on top off them.

It was great to get out and get some sun.  I think I might even have burned my nose as it is usually the only part exposed when I go skiing or snowmachining; and I forgot to put sunscreen on before going out! – Sophia

Qamutiik

Qamutiik

